What Are The Different Stages Of Depression?

Stages of Depression

Depression is a serious mental illness that affects many people all over the globe. There are different stages of depression that people go through when they experience depression, and each stage has its own set of symptoms. If you or someone you love is experiencing symptoms of depression, it is important to identify and seek help right away.

If someone has any of the following, they may be suffering from depression:

An ongoing sense of sadness

Interest in daily tasks is little or nonexistent.

Little to no interest in past activities or hobbies that they once enjoyed

Unaffected by their diet, they either lose weight or gain weight.

Almost no energy

More days when they experience extreme fatigue

Uneasy sensations, agitation, or restlessness

People who struggle with depression or feel any of the stages of depression may also experience low self-esteem and feelings of inadequacy. They might appear to move or speak more slowly than others, and they might struggle to think clearly, come to decisions, or comprehend or pay attention to what others are saying in a conversation. They might also think of killing themselves, self-harming, or possibly ending their lives.

Stages Of Depression

Major Depressive Disorder 

Major depressive illness is defined by a combination of symptoms and a consistently depressed mood that lasts at least two weeks.

People experiencing major depressive episodes often feel hopeless, sad, anxious, and worthless. They are also likely to have trouble sleeping and eating. Major Depressive Disorder is considered a “serious and persistent disease” that is treatable with therapy and/or medication.

According to the National Institute of Mental Health, people experiencing major depressive disorder are typically depressed for six months or longer and show severe impairment in work, school, or other important areas of life. 

Subsyndromal Depression

The second stage of depression is “subsyndromal depression,” which is defined as a milder form of depression that doesn’t meet the diagnostic criteria for a major depressive episode but still causes significant distress. Subsyndromal depression is sometimes referred to as “low-grade depression.” Some people experience subsyndromal depression as a brief episode of depression that may resolve on its own within a few days or weeks.

Depressive Disorder’s Five Stages

Denial: A person can outright reject the notion if they do not wish to believe that depression is a possibility. Even though the symptoms have been present for some time, a person might not be able, willing, or ready to consider the possibility that they are profoundly depressed. They might even acknowledge that, despite feeling depressed, the mood is only fleeting and will soon pass. Negative emotions may be affecting their lives for a long time and they may not realize it. The denial phase is typically brief.

Anger: A person who is depressed could become upset at having to deal with it if and when denial fades. During this phase, it’s typical to feel helpless or victimized. People frequently ponder this question: “Why me?” This might be the case because the person is unaware of the stigma that frequently surrounds mental health illnesses or because they do not know where to go or who to turn to. At this time, a person may be concerned that will not have the resources or knowledge to deal with their sadness.

Bargaining: Dealing with the reality of a depression diagnosis may be a step in the acceptance process. One could find themselves engaging in various activities to combat depression. They might volunteer to do something else to help their depression pass by praying about it to their source of faith. This stage could pass quickly if the person learns that their pleas and offers aren’t doing anything to improve their situation.

Depression:Powerful, angry, and helpless emotions define the depression stage of the grieving process. When suffering from depression, a person may become even more reclusive, refusing to interact with others or the outside world in any way. They can choose to stay in bed, skip taking a shower, or avoid doing household chores because they feel emotionally numb. During this time, a person’s thoughts might become quite gloomy, and they could even consider killing themselves or taking their own lives. It’s time to seek help if you or someone you know is experiencing a deeper depression.

Acceptance: At this point, a person decides to accept the fact that they are dealing with depression on a daily basis. They may choose to do all they can to handle it on their own or decide to seek expert therapy for it at a facility. Professional treatment entails the use of drugs, treatments, and the development of a treatment plan with a qualified mental health professional in order to effectively treat depression.

It’s crucial to realize that not everyone who experiences depression goes through all five stages of depression; some people only go through one or two. They could move around and have various experiences at once or begin and finish the cycle several times. For many people, managing depression is a lifelong challenge.

Recovery And Treatment

The good news is that you can now get the proper treatment if you have a documented diagnosis of depression. An antidepressant drug that can balance the chemicals in the brain that affect one’s mood and emotions may be prescribed to you.

In sessions with mental health experts, therapy also unravels all the worry and restores an individual’s well-being. People frequently utilize cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) to alleviate their depression. CBT is intended to address negative thoughts and mental patterns that, if left unchecked and unredirected, can result in harmful behaviours. Many people find it easier to make better decisions for themselves when they think clearly and link their thinking to their behaviour.


Please be aware that depression can cause a wide range of complex emotions if you’re struggling with it. You shouldn’t feel constrained by stages; instead, you should be able to explore whatever emotions may surface for you. Consult an online therapist and start your journey of healing today.

Seeking help is a sign of courage. Don't let self-limiting beliefs hold you back from a life you deserve. Avail online therapy to become happier and better. Learn how

Scroll to Top